Awards & Scholarships

Our members engage in innovative and groundbreaking work on local, regional, national and international levels and we are excited to recognize their work in the areas of group work research, practice, and teaching.

ASGW 2023 Student Scholarships

Deadline: December 4, 2023

  • Peg Carroll Scholarship
    A $2000 scholarship to support students’ continued group work training and development.
  • Rex Stockton Scholarship
    One $1000 scholarship to support an international student’s attendance at the annual ASGW Conference.
  • Barbara Gazda Scholarship
    Two $250 scholarships to support students’ attendance at the annual ASGW Conference.

ASGW 2024 Awards

Deadline: December 4, 2023

  • Group Work Practice Award
    Recognition of an outstanding practitioner in group work in any area covered by the ASGW Professional Standards.
  • Professional Advancement Award
    Recognition of an individual’s efforts to advance group work through research, new technologies, legislation, public relations or practice 
  • Eminent Career Award
    Recognition of career-long national and/or international contributions to group work by an ASGW member.
  • M. Carolyn Thomas Outstanding Branch Award
    Recognition of an ASGW state branch organization’s effort to promote group work in their state.

Awards Gallery

ASGW Awards 2024

Awarded at the ASGW Conference in Portland

ASGW Awards 2020

Awarded at the ASGW Conference in Puerto Rico

ASGW Awards 2019

Awarded at ACA Conference #NOLA at Members Meeting, March 2019